B.C. Liberals win majority in stunning result


B.C.’s incumbent Liberals have won a majority government, a stunning turnaround for the party.

In the days leading up to the election, poll after poll had predicted an NDP majority.

Two hours after the polls closed, the Liberals are leading or elected in 51 ridings; the second-place NDP are leading or elected in just 32 ridings.

NDP leader Adrian Dix handily won his riding, but Liberal leader Christy Clark is in a battle for her seat in Vancouver-Point Grey, where she faces noted poverty lawyer, David Eby. John Cummins, whose Conservative party was considered a major threat to the Liberals, was soundly defeated in Langley, where the Liberals hung on to their seat. In a first, the Green party won its first seat; Andrew Weaver defeated Liberal cabinet minister Ida Chong on Vancouver Island.

Filed under:

B.C. Liberals win majority in stunning result

  1. Former NDP leader Carole James would have won the election.

    • wooda coulda…

Sign in to comment.