Introducing Justin Trudeau’s new cabinet

18 rookies tapped for cabinet, including Toronto MP Bill Morneau for finance

Canada's new Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (bottom row C) poses with his cabinet after their swearing-in ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa November 4, 2015.  REUTERS/Chris Wattie - RTX1URF7

Canada’s new Prime Minister Justin Trudeau (bottom row C) poses with his cabinet after their swearing-in ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa November 4, 2015. REUTERS/Chris Wattie – RTX1URF7

OTTAWA — Rookie Toronto MP Bill Morneau has been named Canada’s new finance minister by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

Morneau, a former executive and past chairman of the C.D. Howe Institute, is just one of several newcomers to the House of Commons among those comprising Trudeau’s 30-member cabinet.

Veteran MP and former Liberal leader Stephane Dion has been appointed foreign affairs minister, while newcomer Jody Wilson-Raybould becomes justice minister and attorney general.

Others include Ralph Goodale in Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness; Lawrence MacAulay in Agriculture and Agri-Food; John McCallum in Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship; and Carolyn Bennett in Indigenous and Northern Affairs. Toronto MP Chrystia Freeland becomes international trade minister.

Related reading: Justin Trudeau taps 18 rookies for cabinet

Kent Hehr takes Veterans Affairs and also becomes associate minister of national defence, while Harjit Sajjan becomes defence minister and newcomer Catherine McKenna takes Environment and Climate Change.

Judy Foote is minister of public services and procurement, while Scott Brison has been named president of the Treasury Board. Veteran MP Dominic LeBlanc becomes government House leader. Melanie Joly takes the Canadian Heritage portfolio; Navdeep Bains gets Innovation, Science and Economic Development; Jane Philpott in Health; Jean-Yves Duclos in Families, Children and Social Development.

Here is the the new cabinet

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, also minister of intergovernmental affairs and youth;

Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Ralph Goodale;

Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Lawrence MacAulay;

Minister of Foreign Affairs Stephane Dion;

Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship John McCallum;

Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Carolyn Bennett;

President of the Treasury Board Scott Brison;

Leader of the Government in the House of Commons Dominic LeBlanc;

Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Navdeep Singh Bains;

Minister of Finance William Morneau;

Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Jody Wilson-Raybould;

Minister of Public Services and Procurement Judy Foote;

Minister of International Trade Chrystia Freeland;

Minister of Health Jane Philpott;

Minister of Families, Children and Social Development Jean-Yves Duclos;

Minister of Transport Marc Garneau;

Minister of International Development and La Francophonie Marie-Claude Bibeau;

Minister of Natural Resources James Carr;

Minister of Canadian Heritage Melanie Joly;

Minister of National Revenue Diane Lebouthillier;

Minister of Veterans Affairs Kent Hehr, also associate minister of National Defence;

Minister of Environment and Climate Change Catherine McKenna;

Minister of National Defence Harjit Singh Sajjan;

Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour MaryAnn Mihychuk;

Minister of Infrastructure and Communities Amarjeet Sohi;

Minister of Democratic Institutions Maryam Monsef;

Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities Carla Qualtrough;

Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard Hunter Tootoo;

Minister of Science Kirsty Duncan;

Minister of Status of Women Patricia A. Hajdu;

Minister of Small Business and Tourism Bardish Chagger.


Introducing Justin Trudeau’s new cabinet

  1. We have got to do something about that dreadful oath!

  2. Well. At last. With all the chirping and gibberish from the Black/Asper/Pelardeau legacy crew about
    regional and gender and cultural balance, it’s a relief to see the historically neglected region of
    Bay St. get some representation. Morneau, Brison, McCallum, Freeland. They have a burden to

  3. So.. If Canada were to ever separate from the commonwealth, to whom would our elected officials swear allegiance to? Why is the whole thing about the Queen? Does she even speak french?

    • Who would they swear allegiance to? How about “the people and nation of Canada”?

    • For what it’s worth, yes, she speaks excellent French. Also, she is the Queen of Canada and the oath is as such. She’s not just “Queen of England.”

    • Leaving the Commonwealth wouldn’t technically change anything with regard to Her Majesty at all.

      Her Majesty is Queen of Canada by law completely separately from her role as Head of the Commonwealth. The day after any decision to leave the Commonwealth, Queen Elizabeth would STILL be Queen of Canada.

    • As Plaid Shorts points out, yes, Her Majesty speaks excellent French. In fact, I’m quite certain that her French is better than any Canadian Prime Minister she’s ever had, with the possible exceptions of Trudeau (Sr.) and St. Laurent.

      I can’t judge myself (my French is basically non-existent, sadly) but it wouldn’t shock me in the least to hear it argued that the Queen’s French is better than Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s (no slam on Trudeau there, the Queen’s French is simply, reportedly, that good).

Sign in to comment.