Sochi, while you slept: fog in the mountains

Poor visibility postpones several events

by Aaron Hutchins

Jae C. Hong/AP

Jae C. Hong/AP

Foggy days

Sochi’s scheduling was thrown for a loop on Monday, as a thick fog came over the mountains. Men’s snowboard cross was delayed for several hours hoping the fog would lift, as the weather made it virtually impossible for athletes to compete.

Eventually the snowboard cross was postponed until tomorrow, and there’s still uncertainty over what will happen with other events today in the mountains.

But not to worry, there are still plenty of events happening indoors today, such as hockey and figure skating.

Dispatches from Sochi: (Be sure to follow: @ChasGillis, @JonGatehouse, @kmqyvr, @KrRutherford and @reporterchris)

Jonathon Gatehouse: A familiar place for Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir

Charlie Gillis: One close call for Canada men’s hockey

Ken MacQueen: Silver redemption for Dominique Maltais

Kristina Rutherford: Dominique Maltais’s dad could barely watch his daughter’s run

Wake up! Still to come today: bobsled, Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir, and Team Canada hockey

Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir had a flawless first skate in the short dance program yesterday, but it was still only good enough for second behind their American rivals Meryl Davis and Charlie White. If the Canadians hope to repeat their gold-medal performance from Vancouver, they’ll need to be perfect again in the ice dance today. The quest for anther figure skating gold starts at 10 a.m. EST/7 a.m. PST.

Canada’s women’s hockey team can guarantee another medal with a win over Switzerland in the semi-finals today. Canada won their round robin match-up 5-0 and are poised to advance to another battle for Olympic gold against the U.S. Puck drops at noon EST/9 a.m. PST.

It’s time for #beardmode to step up on the podium. Canada’s two-man bobsled teams competed well on day one. Justin Kripps and Bryan Barnett sit fourth after the first two runs, while Chris Spring and former CFLer Jesse Lumsden are currently in eighth. A medal is within reach. Canadians take the track at 9:30 a.m. EST/6:30 a.m. PST.




Browse

Sochi, while you slept: fog in the mountains

  1. I wasn’t sleeping…

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *