In baseball, stuff that's never happened before… usually has. -

In baseball, stuff that’s never happened before… usually has.


Shocking! Unprecedented! Unparalleled! These are among the words being used to describe the umpiring error that cost the Tigers’ Armando Galarraga a perfect game yesterday. Well, maybe it’s unprecedented and maybe it isn’t. Depends on whom you ask.


In baseball, stuff that’s never happened before… usually has.

  1. It may not quite be unprecedented, but neither of those examples you cite have video evidence showing how obviously the umpire blew the call. Plus, in the cases of both Wiltse and Pappas, the disputed calls were borderline ball/strike — not exactly as cut and dried as the ball beating the batter to the first base bag by couple of steps…

  2. If that last play is going to be overruled, then the entire game should be audited for mistakes in the pitcher's favor. If there was bad ball/strike call that kept a runner off base – then the "perfect game" never existed.

    I'd like to see more accurate officiating, but the possibility of error is built into the game. It can go both ways, and ISTM it's just as likely to favor record-setting (or whatever) as not.

  3. C’mon, Cosh! There’s an inherent element of subjectivity in calling balls and strikes, and video evidence is unreliable because the pitch looks different from different angles.

    But missing a call at first base, when the runner was a couple of feet away from the bag? Yes, to destroy a pitcher’s bid for a perfect game by blowing a call that flagrantly is unprecedented.

  4. I just want to add a dissenting viewpoint… This was not an obvious call. MLB rules state that the tag does not occur until the ball is held "securely and firmly" by the first baseman. It's not when the ball touches the glove, or when it enters the glove, or when it disappears within the glove. It's when the ball is held securely and firmly. To me, the video doesn't make it clear that this occurred before Donald's foot touched the base.