B.C.'s new premier

Christy Clark wins Liberal leadership in third ballot

B.C.’s former deputy premier has succeeded her one-time boss as the province’s premier. Christy Clark defeated former cabinet ministers Kevin Falcon, George Abbott and Mike de Jong in a third round of preferential ballot to become the provincial leader of the governing Liberal party. Elected on a ‘families first’ campaign platform, Clark vowed to make job creation and fighting poverty top priorities. Clark succeeds a beleaguered Campbell who announced his resignation following widespread public disapproval of his unveiling of the HST in the province.

CBC News