No rematch for Ireland -

No rematch for Ireland

France’s goal off hand-ball will stand, FIFA rules


There is trouble in Ireland this morning, and not the kind we’re used to. FIFA, the world governing body for soccer, has ruled that France’s decisive goal following a hand-ball by Thierry Henry must stand, which leaves Ireland on the outside looking in at next year’s World Cup in South Africa. Ireland’s football governing body had appealed the call, arguing the qualifier should be replayed. How big a deal is this for the Irish? Their prime minister, Brian Cowen, has said he would raise the issue with French President Nicolas Sarkozy at a meeting of the 27 EU leaders in Brussels. Henry admitted after the game to handling the ball. But exactly what Sarko is supposed to do about it is unclear. Even Henry’s acknowledgement that a rematch is in order appears to have fallen on deaf ears.


Filed under: