The Department of Culture

Formed just before the election was called, The Department of Culture is a group of “artists, arts professionals and cultural workers concerned about ensuring the social and cultural health and prosperity of our nation in the face of a Federal Government that is aggressively undermining the values that define Canada.” Naomi Klein was a keynote speaker at their town hall meeting earlier in the month.

Attendees included author Russell Smith.


Toronto NDP MP Olivia Chow was there handing out literature.


NDP MP Peggy Nash also showed.


As did Ontario NDP MPP Peter Tabuns.


Collecting the cash for the big fight.

Looking for more?

Get the best of Maclean's sent straight to your inbox. Sign up for news, commentary and analysis.