Facebook Instant Articles

Meet the 113 new members of the Order of Canada

Incoming class include in-house favourite Peter Bregg

Rideau Hall

OTTAWA — The Order of Canada is receiving 113 new members this year. Here’s the list of recipients released by Rideau Hall on the eve of Canada Day (* denotes a promotion within the Order):

Companions of the Order of Canada

Barbara Sherwood Lollar, geochemist

Officers of the Order of Canada

Kenneth Armson, forest management advocate

Ellen Bialystok, language researcher

Yvon Charest, president and CEO of Industrial Alliance Insurance and Financial Services Inc.

Gregory Charles, singer and performer

John Richard English*, historian and politician

Eduardo L. Franco, cervical cancer researcher

Jacques Godbout, writer and filmmaker

Serge Godin*, founder of technology security firm CGI

Robert Arthur Gordon, academic

Philippe Gros, genetics researcher

Piers Guy Paton Handling, CEO of the Toronto International Film Festival

Roberta L. Jamieson*, First Nations activist

Nathalie Lambert, Olympic speed skater

Andres Lozano, neurosurgeon

John McCall MacBain, philanthropist and founder of the McCall MacBain Foundation

John McGarry, academic

Rene Theophile Nuytten, deep-sea explorer

Dennis O’Connor, commissioner of the Walkerton and Maher Arar inquiries

Sophie May Pierre, commissioner for the British Columbia Treaty Commission

Thomas Quinn, business leader

Noralou Roos*, medical researcher

Abraham Anghik Ruben, indigenous artist

Tsun-Kong Sham, scientist

Dorothy Shaw, women’s health advocate

Anthony von Mandl, Okanagan wine maker

The Honourable Warren Winkler, former chief justice of the Ontario Court of Appeal

Ronald J. Wonnacott, free trade researcher

Members of the Order of Canada

Joseph Georges Arsenault, researcher and promoter of Prince Edward Island’s Acadian history

Salah John Bachir, entrepreneur

Isabel Bassett, former Ontario cabinet minister

Gerald Batist, cancer researcher

Geoffrey Battersby, physician, politician and community leader

Francoise Baylis, medical ethicist and health care advocate

Gregory S. Belton, philanthropist

Johanne Berry, businesswoman and mentor

Timothy Borlase, author and arts program specialist

Richard Fredrick Bradshaw, philanthropist

Peter Bregg, photojournalist

Donald C. Brinton, broadcaster and retired executive with Canwest Global Communications

Michael Budman and Don Green, founders of retailer Roots Canada Ltd.

Cassie Campbell, Olympic hockey player and broadcaster

Mariette Carrier-Fraser, language rights advocate

The Honourable Sharon Carstairs, retired senator

Neena L. Chappell, caregiving and dementia researcher

Zita Cobb, social entrepreneur

Mary Cornish, pay equity advocate

L. Mark Cullen, horticulture educator and environmentalist

Madeleine Delaney-Leblanc, women’s rights activist

Patricia Demers, academic

Serge Denoncourt, actor

Charlotte Diamond, children’s entertainer

Rupert James Duchesne, customer loyalty management innovator

Michael Eskin, canola oil researcher

Carole Anne Estabrooks, health care researcher

Yvon Ethier, musician

Gerald Richard Fagan, conductor and educator.

Linda Marie Fedigan, primate researcher

Marie Esther Fortier, hospital administrator and researcher

Stephen Gaetz, homelessness researcher

Ned Goodman, philanthropist

Paul John Perry Guloien, jazz saxophonist

Barbara Hannigan, opera singer

Gregory Hanson, business leader

Susan Johnson, psychologist and therapist

Diane Juster, musician

Eli Kassner, co-founder of the Guitar Society of Toronto.

Elaine Keillor, Canadian music historian

Hassan Khosrowshahi, business magnate and philanthropist

Michael Charles Klein, family and maternity care physician

Laurier Lacroix, Quebec arts historian

Mark Levine, oncologist and researcher

Shar Levine, science educator

Sidney B. Linden, former chief judge of the Ontario Court of Justice

Gail Dexter Lord, museum planner and manager

Steve Lurie, mental health care advocate

Bruce MacKinnon, editorial cartoonists.

Harriet MacMillan, psychiatrist and pediatrician

Joe and Stephanie Mancini, homeless advocates

Roger L. Martin, business educator and academic

Don McKellar, actor, writer and director.

Linda E. McKnight, publisher

Emily Molnar, ballet dancer and choreographer

Terrence Montague, cardiovascular disease researcher

Richard Ian Guy Morrison, Arctic shorebirds conservationist

The Honourable Graydon Nicholas, former lieutenant governor of New Brunswick

Niels Ole Nielsen, veterinarian and academic

Shane O’Dea, educator and orator

Robert Pace, Atlantic Canada business leader

Eric L. Peterson, philanthropist and indigenous health care advocate

Michel Picher, labour arbitrator

Deborah Poff, academic administrator

Andrew M. Pringle, investor and chairman of the Toronto Police Services Board

Daniel Reiss, environmentalist and chairman of Polar Bears International

Howard Warren Rundle, former president of Fanshawe College

Robert J. Sawyer, science fiction writer

Kathryn Shields, women’s basketball player and coach

Ilkay Silk, actor, director and playwright

Jean Swanson, anti-poverty activist in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside.

Kathleen Patricia Taylor, former president and CEO of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts

Richard Tremblay, founder and director of the Canadian Organ Donors Association

Louis Vachon, president of the National Bank of Canada

Geraldine Van Bibber, former commissioner of Yukon

David Vaver, intellectual property law as a scholar

James W. St. G. Walker, historian

Michael A. Walker, founder of the Fraser Institute

Howard Wetston, judge, former chairman of the Ontario Energy Board and the Ontario Securities Commission

Catharine Whiteside, medical researcher

Marie Wilson, commissioner with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission

James G. Wright, pediatric orthopedist

Glenda Yeates, former deputy minister of Health Canada

Looking for more?

Get the Best of Maclean's sent straight to your inbox. Sign up for news, commentary and analysis.