Studying C-38

As more transcripts are posted online, an update on the finance committee’s study of C-38.

The committee reconvened on May 28 to study Division 31 (Railway Safety Act), Division 32 (Canadian International Trade Tribunal), Division 33 (International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development Act), Division 34 (Health of Animals Act), Division 35 (Canada School of Public Service Act), Division 36 (Bank Act), Division 37 (Corrections and Conditional Release Act), Division 38 (Coasting Trade Act), Division 39 (Status of the Artist Act), Division 40 (National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy Act), Division 41 (Telecommunications Act), Division 42 (Employment Equity Act), Division 43 (Employment Insurance Act) and Division 44 (Customs Tariff Act).

On the morning of May 29, the committee heard from the Canadian Association of Public Employees, Democracy Watch, Merit Canada and the United Food and Commercial Workers Union. That afternoon, the committee heard from the Canadian Labour Congress, the Conseil national des chômeurs et chômeuses, the Macdonald-Laurier Institute, PPP Canada Inc. and officials from public safety, justice and the RCMP.

On May 30, the committee heard from representatives of BCE Incorporated and Bell Canada, the Communications, Energy and Paperworkers Union of Canada, Mobilicity, Public Mobile, Wind Mobile, professor Len Zedel, the Agriculture Union, the C.D. Howe Institute, Consumer Health Products Canada, the Canada Organic Trade Association, Nalcor Energy, professor Richard Steiner and the United Steelworkers.

On the morning of May 31, the committee heard from economist Patrick Grady, policy analyst Richard Kurland, professor Ian Lee, lawyer Lorne Waldman, the Canadian Federation of Students, Oxfam Canada, the Canadian Auto Workers, the Retail Council of Canada, professor Marjorie Griffin Cohen and Campaign 2000. That afternoon the committee heard from professor Aurel Braun, Canada Without Poverty, the Canadian Association of University Teachers, the Canadian Medical Association, professor Michael Jackson, professor Alain Noel, the Canadian Conference of the Arts, the Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions, the Canadian Media Guild, the Canadian Museums Association and the Council of Canadians.

See previously: Studying C-38